My definition of social media

I just had a dream. It was a strange dream: I dreamt about social media. Or at least, there was a moment in this dream where I finally defined “social media” for myself.

For quite some time I was looking to formulate a simple and short explanation for my own use about what “social media” is. And also: why am I so fascinated with its world and power? Why should I continue to use it? I wanted to make this clear and not just rely on other people’s thoughts and impressions. I was also looking for a definition that fits within the Twitter-set limit of 140 characters – a definition would only work for me if it was to be concise and to the point.

Well, I think I finally have it. I finally have a definition about “social media” that fits within all the criteria I already mentioned and answers my questions. And this definition is good enough for me to even get me out of bed at 7 and inspire me to write this post.

But I think I kept you waiting for a while now and it’s high time I share my revelation about what I consider “social media” to be and why should I (and if you like it – you) embrace it and continue to use it. Here it is:

Social media takes down barriers and brings us together. And together, as people, we become empowered to change worlds.

And now it’s your turn: what is “social media” according to you? Why do you use it?

I’m looking forward to your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

