Building relationships on Twitter

This post is will serve me in two ways: first, I want to share my appreciation to all my super-awesome followers with whom I’m having great conversations; second, I want to express my frustration towards all the “silent” connections who press the “follow” button, but don’t respond to any sort of communication from my side.

Over the last couple of months I have started to reap the benefits of maintaining an active twitter presence. I have met great people with whom I am constantly exchanging information and thoughts on a broad range of topics – from the simplicity of daily life to the complexity of the social media world. These conversations have richly expanded my mindset and also became foundations for a lot of great relationships. I’ve had the opportunity to meet some of these friends in person – with the rest I hope to meet in the very near future. To all of you I want to say this:

THANK YOU! YOU ARE AWESOME!

That being said, I am about to turn my attention to those people who decide to follow me, but I have never heard from them. Even after I’ve tried to start a conversation. I appreciate the fact that you are interested in what I have to say, but how about saying “Hello” or at least respond to my personal message to YOU?! I take a moment of my time and make an effort to get to know you – I look at your profile picture, read your bio, check your website/blog (in case you have one), and write a thank you note with the intention to hear back from you and start a dialogue. And I get back nothing from you in return. What benefit do you see in approaching someone without caring about this person? Well, I don’t care too much about this, to be honest. As I said: I appreciate your interest and I am doing my part. Plus, I have plenty of awesome people to talk with, so there’s nothing to lose for me.

If you’ve read this post and you belong to the first group of people I mentioned I say THANK YOU once more. If you belong to the other group and never responded to my invitation – thank you as well, but what’s your reason for using social media? But if you read this post and want to drop me a line – feel free to do so – you’ll hear back from me!

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Building relationships on Twitter

  1. This is akin to walking up to someone at a networking event, introducing yourself, and they scoff at you and walk away. It’s SOCIAL media, which means you’re supposed to talk to people, meet interesting new friends, and be social.

  2. Marin, thank you so much – this is absolutely awesome! And, you are so right about ACTUALLY connecting with people. The acts of having a simple conversation and saying thank you are a few things that will never get old. My pleasure to
    “meet” you through Twitter!

  3. We are all different. Regarding our experience with different people, we can appreciate those who impress us and with whom we have positive interrelations. Thanks to Twitter, I have met great people from all around the world who are passionate to communicate and exchange ideas. You and Gini are two of them and I am really happy to know both of you! πŸ™‚

    • Great comment, Petya! One of the greatest benefits of twitter and having a strong network there is exactly what you said – exchanging knowledge and ideas that bring a lot of positives to our lives πŸ™‚

  4. I love Twitter because it has allowed me to get to know so many awesome people that I would have never met otherwise. However, social media is a scary space and many don’t understand it which is often the reason for them being quiet. And then, of course, there are the really asocial people. In their case, I’m asking myself the same question. Why use it if you don’t use it to its full potential.. i.e. meet people and be social?!
    Thanks for the Twitter mention. (Sorry I didn’t reply only just had time to check it.) Lovely post! Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Antonia!

      You are right – a lot of people out there do not understant the true potential of social networks, but I also think there is a large group of just lazy people who don’t care too much about building these relationships.

Leave a Reply

